Jewel Staite Loves my Hats!

30 Sep

Where you find out just how often The Glitzy Faery updates her blog…

OK, so … you may have heard that a bunch of us Etsy shop owners received cease-and-desist letters from Fox, telling us that we were violating their copyright by selling “Jayne” hats. Why would they care now, and ENTIRE DECADE after the show “Firefly” had been cancelled? Well, a hat manufacturer went to them to get the Official Licence  To Sell Jayne Hats. Which none of us thought of, because we make all of OURS one at a time, by hand, and couldn’t supply the demand that you’d need to do to, say, get listed on ThinkGeek or something (after the media brouhaha, TG now gives their portion of the profits to charity.)

The official hat isn’t all that great, though. The colors are off. WAY off. It’s really bright, where the on in the show is more “mustard and rust” than “yellow and red”. If you read my original blog post, you know how much work I did on getting mine EXACTLY, PRECISELY right. Yes, I am a nerd. That’s Ms Nerd to you!

So, my roommate wears the No-Longer-A-Jayne-Hat to get his pic taken with Jewel Staite at Phoenix ComiCon. Yes, in May. Yes, it’s now practically October.

ANYWAY. She told him “That’s the best one I’ve seen!”

I’m still squeeing about that. I’m not even joking!

Judge for yourself:

Roommate Tom with JEWEL STAITE, AHHHHH!!!

Roommate Tom with JEWEL STAITE, AHHHHH!!!

Unfortunately you can’t see the pompom, and I’ve been told I make the best pompoms in the ‘Verse. I don’t skimp on the yarn, yo! Ma Cobb would be proud. She just couldn’t admit it to Fox.

If you have NOT checked out my other blog post, there’s a free pattern if you want to make your own. If you don’t have any crafty friends or relatives and would like an Adam Baldwin Not-Jayne hat of your own, check out my Etsy store:
https://www.etsy.com/listing/113255371/not-jayne-hat-knit-earflap-hat-with-pom?

